Skip to main content

Division of Maternal-Fetal (Perinatal) Medicine

Perinatologists are obstetricians/gynecologists with advanced education and experience in high risk pregnancy management in Maternal-Fetal Medicine (MFM). Our Clinical and Basic Science Faculty:

  • provide primary and consultative care for high-risk pregnancies through the Perinatal Hotline
  • train residents and clinical fellows to provide evidence-based empathetic care to women with high-risk pregnancies
  • train graduate students and post-doctoral fellows to become outstanding biomedical scientists
  • conduct cutting edge basic, translational and clinical research aimed at improving the health and wellbeing of the mother and fetus/newborn

Division Director

Thomas F. Kelly, M.D.

Thomas Kelly, M.D.

"Welcome to the Division of Maternal-Fetal Medicine at the UC San Diego. Our division has a large number of exceptional clinician-educators, as well as basic science, translational, and clinical investigators. We provide clinical care for those with complicated pregnancies, consultation for patients referred by other obstetrical providers, prenatal imaging and diagnostic procedures. The division has specific interests in placental disorders, diabetes, hypertension, and fetal imaging, with faculty leading active research programs in these areas. We have a highly regarded training program in maternal-fetal medicine, which continues to produce the next generation of academic and clinical perinatologists."


Advanced Practice Providers

Jasmine Ortega, CNM

Training & Education

Fellowship Training Program in Maternal-Fetal Medicine

Labs & Research

Current MFM Fellows

Kelsey Pinson, M.D. (2021-2024)
Dana Canfield, M.D. (2022-2025)
Minhazur Sarker, M.D. (2023-2026)


Faculty Support

Evalina Monreal
for Gyamfi-Bannerman

Lizeth Gallegos
for Louise Laurent, Ukachi Emeruwa, Kathleen Fisch, Marni Jacobs, Amanda Lewis, Warren Lewis, Priya Pantham

Hitomi O'Briant
for Andrew Hull, Thomas Kelly, Sandy Ramos, Maryam Tarsa, Richard Wolf, and Ukachi Emeruwa

Fernando Martinez
for Thomas R. Moore

Dani Sierras Douglas
for Jerry Ballas, Leah Lamale-Smith, Doug Woelkers, and Nicole Teal