Skip to main content


Surf Department News

Fimbria Quarterly

Read Our Newsletter

Donor Spotlight

Drs. Nissi & Ajit Varki donate $300k in support of Glycobiology Research and Training Center and vision of new Co-Directors Dr. Amanda Lewis and Dr. Kamil Godula at UC San Diego to help nucleate new initiative – the GLycoscience Of Women’s health (GLOW).

Featured News

Featured Department News


Faculty Research Grants

Our faculty successfully competes for extramural research funding:

Marni Jacobs, PhD and Louise Laurent, MD, PhD bring in an NIH award for Multi-Omics for Human Health and Disease Study Site New Research Consortium "Multi-Omics for Maternal Health after Preeclampsia."

Ukachi Emeruwa, MD, MPH received the Robert A. Winn Career Development award and Kathleen Fisch, PhD awarded NIH/NICHD grant for Genomic Dissection of Placental Lesions in Preeclampsia.

David Schlaepfer, PhD garners V Foundation Translational Award Grant for "Overcoming Ovarian Cancer Immune Resistance."

Irene Su, MD, MSCE awarded NIH grant for Cancer Research and Education to Advance Health Equity (CREATE).



  • Yvette LaCoursiere, MD, MPH recognized as a 2023 UCSD Health Sciences Excellence in Mentoring Awardee for showing dedication to inclusive mentorship as an extraordinary mentor (October 2023).
  • Erica Vu, CNM, MS won CNM of the Year at UC San Diego Health's Advanced Practice Providers Award Ceremony (October 2023).
  • San Diego Magazine's 2023 Top Doctors:
    • Gynecologic Oncology: Pratibha Binder, MD and Ramez Eskander, MD
    • Maternal-Fetal Medicine: Andrew Hull, MD, Thomas Kelly, MD, and Thomas Moore, MD
    • Obstetrics & Gynecology: Yvette LaCoursiere, MD, MPH, Christine Miller, MD, and Mariana Ramos-Rivera, MD
    • Maternal-Fetal Medicine: Maryam Tarsa, MD
  • Marianna Alperin, MD, MS has been elected Co-Chair for the 2023-2024 term of the Women First Research Coalition (WFRC). This appointment is a testament to leadership and expertise in the field of women’s health research (August 2023).
  • Sheila Mody, MD, MPH has been invited and accepted to become a member of the Complex Family Planning Certifying Examination Subcommittee for ABOG senior candidates (August 2023).
  • Maureen Ries, MD has been recognized at the 2023 Council for Resident Education in Obstetrics & Gynecology (CREOG) Education Retreat for being part of the new generation of Program Directors innovating residency (August 2023).
  • David Schlaepfer, PhD received the V Foundation Translational Award Program Grant for "Overcoming Ovarian Cancer Immune Resistance" (July 2023).
  • Emily Lukacz, MD, MAS received the 1st annual Pamella Mellon Excellence in Mentorship Award (June 2023).
  • Rebecca Racow-Penner, MD, PhD, Anders Dale, PhD, and Michael McHale, MD received the Curebound Cure Prize for developing advanced diffusion-weighted MRI ovarian cancer screening to detect healthy vs. malignant ovarian tissue for women at high risk for the disease (June 2023).
  • Murrieta Gyn Oncology Clinic staffed by Pratihba Binder, MD received the 2023 Patient Experience Highest Achievement Award which recognizes clinics and units with the highest Likelihood to Recommend Percentile Ranks in 2022 (May 2023).
  • Maryam Tarsa, MD has been elected as the incoming Vice Present of the Medical Staff (May 2023).
  • Sarah Averbach, MD lead RCT Author: JAMA | A Randomized Clinical Trial: Early vs. Interval Postpartum Intrauterine Device Placement (March 2023).
  • Ramez Eskander, MD lead RCT Author: NEJM | Pembrolizumab plus Chemotherapy in Advanced Endometrial Cancer (March 2023)
  • Castle Connolly's Top Doctors in San Diego 2023, Modern Luxury Magazine San Diego:
    • Gynecologic Oncology: Ramez Eskander, MD, Michael McHale, MD, and Cheryl Saenz, MD
    • Maternal-Fetal Medicine: Andrew Hull, MD, Thomas Kelly, MD, and Thomas Moore, MD
    • Obstetrics & Gynecology: Pamela Deak, MD, Jessica Kingston, MD, Kathryn Macaulay, MD, Christine Miller, MD, and Shira Varon, MD
    • Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility: Sanjay Agarwal, MD
    • Urogynecology/Female Pelvic Medicine & Reconstructive Surgery: Marianna Alperin, MD, Emily S. Lukacz, MD, and Charles W. Nager, MD
  • Cynthia-Bannerman, MD, MS was elected to The American Society for Clinical Investigation (ASCI) for 2023 joining members from 49 institutions representing UCSD Health excellence across the breadth of academic medicine.
  • Delores Pretorius, MD received the Joseph H. Holmes Clinical Pioneer Award on 1/2023 from the American Institute of Ultrasound in Medicine (AIUM).
  • Julia Cormano, MD received the 2022 APGO Humanism in Teaching Award for demonstrating and fostering the compassionate, respectful, and empathetic treatment of learners, healthcare teams, patients, and families.
  • Varykina Thackray, PhD received the 2022 President's Award from the Association for Women in Science San Diego Chapter for "continued service, enthusiasm and immeasurable contribtions to the chapter."
  • Lindsey Burnett, MD, PhD received one of only 2 awards provided for 2022, from the Reproductive Scientist Development Program at NICHD. The award supports a path to independence for outstanding young investigators in gynecology and obstetrics. It provides up to 4 years of individual support and guidance towards establishing an independent research program.