Skip to main content

Division of Female Pelvic Medicine and Reconstructive Surgery (Urogynecology)

The UC San Diego Division of Female Pelvic Medicine and Reconstructive Surgery (FPMRS) seeks to be an international leader in FPMRS care, research and education. Our mission is to continuously improve FPMRS patient care and the FPMRS knowledge base through teaching and modeling quality clinical care, research and professional education.

The educational objectives are to train the next generation of leaders in FPMRS. While there is a strong clinical component to the program, the focus is to prepare graduates for careers in academic medicine and teaching. The division members actively participate in in basic science research (physiology of pelvic floor dysfunction and urinary microbiome), clinical outcomes research evaluating interventions for pelvic floor dysfunction (including NIH sponsored Pelvic Floor Disorders Network and industry sponsored trials) and bladder health promotion (NIH sponsored Prevention of Lower Urinary tract Symptoms Research Consortium).

The diverse faculty provide training and clinical care in the full spectrum of incontinence and prolapse surgical procedures including open, vaginal, laparoscopic, and robotic approaches.

Our division has three missions:

  1. Clinical Care: We capitalize on our multi-disciplinary model of Ob/Gyn and Urology fellowship trained specialists to continuously improve clinical care and provide subspecialty care primarily to affected women in the San Diego region and secondarily, provide consultation for women across the region in academic setting. The UC San Diego Women's Pelvic Medicine Center is San Diego's first multidisciplinary clinic in the region providing comprehensive care in incontinence and pelvic organ prolapse. The center also hosts a specialty practice for management of complex recurrent urinary tract infections. We employ state of the art technology, including telehealth and cutting edge clinical care for our diverse population.
  2. Research: With extramural funding, we continue to grow our diverse research portfolio across spectrum of basic, translational, clinical and prevention programs. Areas of research to include: (patho)physiology, mechanics and regeneration of the female pelvic soft tissues, surgical (and other clinical) outcomes, prevention of lower urinary tract symptoms, urobiome, and quality metrics ncluding post-operative quality measures including urinarytract infection and hospital readmission.
  3. Education: We boast one of the top FPMRS training programs in the country, attracting the best and brightest physicians from across the US. We are proud to train the next generation of clinician scientists and academic leaders in FPMRS through our ACGME accredited 3-year fellowship training program since 2000.


Division News/Spotlight

  • After nearly 30 years of service as faculty and 5 years as Chair of the UC San Diego Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology & Reproductive Sciences, Dr. Charles Nager will retire from "active duty" June 30 2020. We congratulate him on his heroic efforts and tremendous impact he has had on the department and University. Fortunately, for the division of FPMRS he will be returning to clinical duties in August providing valued clinical and educational commitments to our patients and trainees.
  • Thanks to Dr. Linda Brubaker for stepping in as Interim Chair during this time of transition.
  • Congratulations to Marianna Alperin on her recent 2nd percentile score on her NICHD grant application: Prevention of pelvic floor muscle dysfunction with extracellular matrix hydrogel.

Division Director

Emily Lukacz, M.D., M.A.S.


Marianna Alperin, M.D., M.S.
Linda Brubaker, M.D., M.S.
Emily Lukacz, M.D., M.A.S.
Charles Nager, M.D.

Training & Education

Female Pelvic Medicine and Reconstructive Surgery

Labs & Research

Alperin Lab
Pelvic Floor Disorders Network
Prevention of Lower Urinary Tract Symptoms Research Consortium

Current Fellows

Lindsey Burnett, M.D.
Nemi Shah, M.D.
Julie Suyama, M.D.


Faculty Support

Danahe Medina Hernandez